Yet Another Question

What if money didn’t matter?

Yeah, I know. You don’t really want to play this game, but you’re already here. To be frank, I didn’t want to play either. I didn’t want to pose a somewhat unrealistic question that could change every single person’s life course in a matter of minutes. But then again, did I not?

Perhaps,

If money didn’t matter, less people would die.

If money didn’t matter we wouldn’t “do” things we didn’t want to.

If money didn’t matter, we wouldn’t live working.

Perhaps not

I find myself in a place where money does matter, a lot. It isn’t enough to be growing, or learning, or experimenting—I find myself trapped within this world’s financial box and I’m not sure I will ever get out. Not the most cheery thought, huh? I guess I just wasn’t exactly in tune with what this “real world” was supposed to bring, so now I’m kind of in shock.

Are we simply living or working to live?

Would we find ourselves where we do now if that bank account undid our leash?

Moving to a place with no economic base established, or career developed, was eventually going to get to me. Two months in, with the initial high is gone, and I begin to sense the first strenuous bolts of society’s rules weighing down on my person. Why? Why should we all be forced to choose between our passions and affording our homes?

Then, the inevitable happens; I begin to question poverty. I question why some of us have an abundance while many have nothing. Not even my unrealistic question can help me out of this one.

My friend Amy, however, extended her hand. Amidst all my thoughts and worries, she presented me with one of the most influential videos I have ever watched. Talk about synchronicity.

I felt an immediate rush of euphoria run through you my body. As if I didn’t have enough things to worry about, here comes Alan Watts to change my paradigms.

If not to change the world,this post will be mainly to incite thought and get a conversation started. I have no answers, only more questions.

 So, corrected, I ask:

What do I desire?

Leave a Reply

