The Magic Boot

One of my biggest concerns revolving my cross country move (yes, I actually followed through on that one) was the “opening line” I would use when meeting new people. It really helped me appreciate all the hard work men put into getting our attention—all that encompasses putting yourself completely out there, perhaps with a witty joke or a potential similarity spotted from some feet away, and hope for the best.

Call me crazy, but I spent several hours (cumulatively) obsessing over those first few words that would either find me a new friend, or print a permanent “this girl is cuckoo” sign on my forehead. I’m telling you, the opening is KEY.

Lucky for me I got plenty of practice on my way there. From my encounter with a Seattle Microsoft Exec on the first plane (in which I tried to pretend I knew something meaningful about the Seahawks other than their spiffy neon uniforms), to a potential friend on the second who watched me sleep (or drool) for a full 50 minutes before saying a word, I was able to give my brain some practice on possible introductory phrases.

It wasn’t long before I figured out that the secret to my success was sitting, errr shall I say standing, only a few feet below my belt line.

“Ouch, what happened?”

“Is it broken?”

“Wanna go out on a date?”…. what?

MAGIC?!

When asking my fellow bros, I was slapped with the reality that my boot was not only an easy transition to a more meaningful conversation with strangers; it was also a pick up line served on a silver platter. Here I was, worried about making friends in a new place, when it turns out, I could make friends with inquisitive 5 year olds at the park if I wanted. At least the “Talk-to-me” sign I currently wear on my forehead is better than the “Crazy” one.

The magic boot has taught me a few important life lessons, which I believe need to be shared with the world. So read up:

  1. Don’t skydive without a properly operating parachute—you’ll end up in a boot.
  2. If you’re a chick, don’t prolong conversations with creepy males for longer than 10 minutes.
  3. If you’re having trouble meeting people in a new city, wear a boot.

I realize that the older we get, the harder it is to come out of our little shell and meet new, different, people. It takes guts, especially when we are no longer in a setting of dorms or dining halls,  BUT just like walking out of a good interview, after you make a new friend you take a sense of pride in stepping out of your comfort zone.

Want a challenge? Strike up a conversation with someone NEW this week (or weekend if the liquid confidence helps) and feel for yourself.

Or, you could always go skydiving 

Leave a Reply

